Megan LePere-Schloop receives The Ohio State University’s Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching

Assistant Professor Megan LePere-Schloop has received The Ohio State University's most prestigious award for teaching, the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. She is one of only ten recipients this year among over 3,000 eligible faculty and only the third assistant professor at Ohio State to win this award in the last five years. The award has been given out since 1960 to honor Ohio State faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching at the undergraduate and/or graduate level.

"I'm incredibly humbled, I know it's trite, but I mean it," LePere-Schloop said.

Students, faculty, and alumni make the nominations; and a committee of students, previous recipients, and alumni choose the recipients. Besides a monetary reward, recipients are also inducted into the Ohio State's Academy of Teaching.

Provost Bruce McPheron, Vice Provost Helen Malone and Dean Trevor Brown interrupted her evening class to let her and her students know she had won the award. To complete the surprise announcement, LePere-Schloop's parents were also on hand.

She joins an esteemed group of exemplary educators from the John Glenn College of Public Affairs who have received this award: Dr. John Horack (2019), Dr. Stephanie Moulton (2015), Dr. Mary Marvel (2002), and Dr. Robert Backoff (1993).

© John Glenn College of Public Affairs
Page Hall, 1810 College Road, Columbus, Ohio 43210

Keep up on all the Glenn College news and events by following us on Facebook, Flickr, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and YouTube.