Skip to Main Content

Glenn College Presents 2022 Outstanding Public Service Awards

News Type Public Address

Dean Trevor Brown (left) presents Joe Mazzola, health commissioner, Franklin County Public Health, with the Outstanding Public Service Award. 

The John Glenn College of Public Affairs Outstanding Public Service Award recognizes career contributions or a single contribution to public service. This year’s awards, presented at the college's spring pre-commencement ceremony, honor leadership in public health.

Joe Mazzola, MPA

Health Commissioner, Franklin County Public Health

Joe Mazzola was appointed health commissioner in 2017 after serving as the director of health systems and planning. He was previously a local health department liaison at the Ohio Department of Health; policy and government liaison for the Ohio Tobacco Prevention Foundation; and regional policy coordinator at the American Lung Association. The immediate past-president of the Association of Ohio Health Commissioners, he is a board member of the American Heart Association of Central Ohio and Central Ohio Trauma System. He has served on the Ohio Public Health Association governing council and as chair of the shared-services subcommittee of the Public Health in the 21st Century project with the Ohio Public Health Partnership.

Mysheika W. Roberts, MD, MPH

Health Commissioner, Columbus Public Health

Dr. Mysheika W. Roberts leads Columbus Public Health, addressing social determinants of health including safe, affordable housing; education; jobs; and violent crime to decrease disparities. Prior to her appointment as commissioner in 2017, she was the medical director and assistant health commissioner. Previously, she investigated outbreaks in Ohio for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and led an STD clinic and hepatitis prevention efforts at the Baltimore City Health Department. She is the Big Cities Health Coalition chair-elect; a Lifeline of Ohio Minority Advisory Group and OhioHealth’s Faith, Culture and Community Benefit Committee member; and a mentor in OhioHealth’s Physician Diversity Scholars Program.