Skip to Main Content

Excellence in Public Service Award

The John Glenn College Excellence in Public Service Award honors individuals who have a distinguished history of public service that led to more effective public administration. Honorees reflect the ideals of their mission and inspire others to serve. Past recipients include then-Vice President Joe Biden; James Mattis, former U.S. Secretary of Defense; Michelle Rhee, former chancellor of the District of Columbia Public Schools; and, last year, Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden.

  • 2017 James Mattis, U.S. Secretary of Defense
  • 2016 Tom Wheeler, Chairman; Federal Communications Commission
  • 2015 Pat Tiberi, Member, U.S. House of Representatives
  • 2014 Richard Cordray , Director; Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • 2013 Erskin Bowles and Alan Simpson, Co-Chairs; National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform
  • 2012 Charles F. Bolden, Jr., Administrator; National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • 2011 John Boehner, Speaker; U.S House of Representatives
  • 2010 Michelle Rhee, Chancellor of the District of Columbia Public Schools
  • 2009 Tom Carper, Member; U.S. Senate
  • 2008 Rob Portman, Member; U.S. Senate
  • 2007 Sherrod Brown, Member; U.S. Senate
  • 2006 Leonard L. Haynes, III, Director; Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education
  • 2005 Thomas E. Mann, W. Averell Harriman Chair; The Brookings Institution
  • 2002 George V. Voinovich, Member, U.S. Senate
  • 2001 Dan L. Crippen, Director, U.S. Congressional Budget Office
  • 1998 Mike Dewine , Member, U.S. Senate
  • 1997 Thomas D. Lambros, Former Chief Justice; U.S District Court, Northern of Ohio
  • 1996 Donna Shalala, Secretary; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • 1995 John R. Kasich , Member; U.S. House of Representatives
  • 1994 John Glenn, Member; U.S. Senate
  • 1992 Howard Metzenbaum, Member; U.S. Senate
  • 1991 Constance Berry Newman, Director; U.S. Office of Personnel Management
  • 1990 Charles A. Bowsher, Comptroller General of the United States
  • 1989 Robert D. Reischauer, Director; U.S. Congressional Budget Office
  • 1988 L. Bruce Laingen, Executive Director; National Commission on the Public Service